Get degree ideas using our A level explorer tool

Calculating Ucas points based on predicted grades

Here on The Uni Guide you can search for courses based on the Ucas entry points you’re predicted to achieve. Find out how to calculate your points with our handy tables.

You can search for courses on The Uni Guide based on your predicted Ucas points – but what are these? And why do universities keep going on about them?

You don’t need to have already taken your exams to learn more about Ucas points. Your predicted grades are a great starting point...

What are Ucas points?

Ucas has a points system known as the Ucas Tariff.

Universities can choose to use Ucas Tariff points to compare different qualifications as a means of calculating whether students satisfy the grade requirements to get onto a particular university course.

Ucas points and entry requirements

When researching university course options, the course's entry requirements might list how many Ucas points you'll probably need to be offered a place. Alternatively, when a university comes back to you with an offer it might say how many Ucas points you will need. 

This is just another way of communicating the grade requirements (eg ABB in A-levels) for that course, rather than additional criteria you have to satisfy.

How many Ucas points do I need? 

If you know your predicted grades (or you can guess), you can calculate your Ucas points here for each of your A-level, Higher or Btec courses. Add them up to find out how many Ucas points you'll obtain.

This total is what universities will look for when they set entry requirements and make you an offer.

Search for university courses based on your predicted grades

Ucas points calculator for predicted grades


A-level grade Ucas points
A* 56
A 48
B 40
C 32
D 24
E 16


AS-level grade Ucas points
A 20
B 16
C 12
D 10
E 6

Advanced Highers

Advanced Higher grade Ucas points
A 56
B 48
C 40
D 32

Scottish Highers

Scottish Higher grade Ucas points
A 33
B 27
C 21
D 15

Btec Nationals

Btec National Extended Diploma grades Ucas points
D*D*D* 168
D*D*D 160
D*DD 152
DDD 144
DDM 128
DMM 112
MMM 96
MMP 80
MPP 64
PPP 48


Btec National Diploma grades  
D*D* 112
D*D 104
DD 96
DM 80
MM 64
MP 48
PP 32


Btec National Extended Certificate grade  
D* 56
D 48
M 32
P 16


T level grade  
Distinction* 168
Distinction 144
Merit 120
Pass (C or above on the core) 96
Pass (D or E on the core) 72

What is a T-level? T-levels are a type of vocational qualification that launched with a handful of courses in 2020. One T-level is the equivalent of three A-levels and takes two years to complete. It involves a mixture of classroom learning and on-the-job experience through industry placements.

International Baccalaureate

Are you an international student? The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma itself does not attract Ucas points but the components which make it up do. To achieve the IB Diploma, you have to pass each component and achieve a total IB point score of 24 or more.


Welsh Baccalaureate

Ucas points and your EPQ

An EPQ (Extended Project Qualification) is worth half an A-level: 28 Ucas points for an A*, 24 points for an A and so on. It can be a great way to boost your points.

Extra help with Ucas points

If you can’t find the qualifications you’re taking listed here (there are countless qualifications you can take to get into university!), head to the Ucas Tariff points calculator on the Ucas website to see them listed out, along with their equivalent Tariff points.

You should always check the specific entry requirement details listed for each university course. Some courses don’t list Ucas Tariff points, but only consider grades or scores from a much more limited set of qualifications such as A-levels, Highers or the International Baccalaureate (IB).

Search The Uni Guide

Find further advice or search for information on a course or university